A Drug Possession Defense Lawyer is incredibly important to protect oneself from the law no matter how minor of an offense it appears to be. Drug violations, once they turn into convictions, can cause damage to a person’s ability to earn certain types of professional licenses. Students will most likely lose their financial aid and can also result in decisions declaring a parent unfit to raise their child. Hoping for the best when it comes to your defense or simply utilizing court appointed resources, in most cases, will not be enough defense to protect your record or your interests, professional value, and future life in society.
What’s especially disconcerting about the state of Kansas, besides the fact that marijuana possession is a crime as opposed to a ticketed infraction, is that there isn’t much leniency in terms of the amount of drug in possession, while in other states small amounts are afforded far greater leniency within the law. Cultivation of five plants can result in 12-17 years in prison.
While Marijuana possession is not as frightening as being caught with drugs like cocaine, methamphetamines, or heroin, it is certainly consequential. In Kansas, a second marijuana possession infraction is an all-too-serious charge. It is a felony, which warrants a 10 month to 3 ½ years prison sentence and up to $100,000 in fines. Kansas police are considered to be rather unyielding, and drug laws in the state are some of the most severe in the country. However, depending on the source, Kansas may not appear in a top five list of the worst states for drug possession, which normally include the states of Arizona, Florida, Oklahoma, while others, like marijuana bloggers, have ranked it as the third worst state.
Addair Thurston Chtd., is an experienced Drug Possession Defense Lawyer and firm that can help you to avoid some serious time in a state prison. Fates could potentially become sealed when and if a conviction is brought, as is the case with some of the harder drugs, regardless of the defendant’s prior record. The first offense is a felony charge that can lead to 3 ½ years in prison and up to $100,000 in fines. For more information, go online to Addairthurston.com